Graduate Faculty Mentors

Photo of Dr. J Bird

Jonathan Bird, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: j.bird@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-8633

Research Interests

  • Hearing loss
  • Molecular motors and cytoskeletal disease
  • Gene therapy
  • High-content screening and drug discovery

Olga Guryanova, MD, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: oguryanova@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-8590

Research Interests

  • Cancer
  • Hematopoietic Stem Cells
  • Epigenetics
  • Drug discovery

Jeffrey Harrison, Ph.D.
Concentration Director

Email: jharriso@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-627-9208

Research Interests

  • Cancer
  • Chemokines
  • Receptors

Picture of Dr. Kopinke

Daniel Kopinke, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: dkopinke@ufl.edu
Phone: 352 294-5355

Research Interests

  • Tissue Regeneration
  • Primary Cilia and Cilopathies
  • Fatty Fibrosis
  • Drug Discovery

Dr. Law

Brian Law, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: bklaw@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-273-9423

Research Interests

  • Cancer
  • Cell Cycle Regulation
  • Drug Discovery

picture of dr. lobanova

Ekaterina Lobanova, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Ophthalmology)

Email: elobanova@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-273-8787

Research Interests

  • Ophthalmology

Erica Levitt, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: erica.levitt@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-8651

Research Interests

  • Neuropharmacology
  • Opioids
  • Respiratory

picture of hendrik luesch

Hendrik Luesch, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair (Medicinal Chemistry)

Email: luesch@cop.ufl.edu
Phone: 352-273-7738

Research Interests

  • Drug discovery (bioassay development, NMR spectroscopic structure determination, total synthesis, mechanism-of-action studies, preclinical and clinical development of candidate molecules)

Jeffrey Martens, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Email: martensj@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-5352

Research Interests

  • Neuropharmacology
  • Olfaction
  • Cardiovascular

Picture of Amber Muehlmann

Amber Muehlmann, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Psychiatry)

Email: muehlman@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-4935

Research Interests

  • Basal ganglia circuitry dysfunction
  • Psychiatric and neurodevelopmental disorders

Steven D. Munger, Ph.D.
Professor & Vice Chair

Email: steven.munger@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-5479

Research Interests

  • Neuropharmacology
  • Olfaction

Roger Papke, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: rlpapke@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-392-4712

Research Interests

  • Drug Discovery
  • Ion Channels
  • Receptors

 photo of leah

Leah Reznikov, PhD
Assistant Professor – Physiological Sciences

Email: leahreznikov@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-4059

Research Interests

  • Interface of the nervous system and the airway
  • Models of asthma and cystic fibrosis
  • Discover new mechanisms of airway disease

Picture of Ashish

Ashish Sharma, MBBS, PhD
Associate Professor – Surgery

Email: ashish.sharma@surgery.ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-8660

Research Interests

  • Mechanisms of aortic aneurysm pathobiology
  • Mechanisms and therapeutic strategies for post-lung transplant injury
  • Adenosine and sphingosine receptor biology in lung preservation and attenuation of lung IR injury

Dietmar Siemann Picture

Dietmar Siemann, Ph.D.
Associate Chair (Radiation Oncology)

Email: siemadw@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-273-8231

Research Interests

  • Experimental approaches and treatment strategies that seek to enhance cancer patient care

Lee Sweeney, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: lsweeney@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-273-9416

Research Interests

  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Muscular Distrophy
  • Gene Therapies

Nikhil Urs, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: nikhilurs@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-5727

Research Interests

  • Dopamine neurotransmission
  • Neuropharmacology
  • Dopamine Circuit mapping
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Schizophrenia

Daniel Wesson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: danielwesson@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-294-8767

Research Interests

  • Olfaction
  • Sensory-driven motivated behaviors
  • Attention
  • Neurodegeneration

Picture of Rui Xiao

Rui Xiao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Aging and Geriatric Research)

Email: rxiao@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-273-9389

Research Interests

  • Interactions between genetic factors and environmental factors in the process of animal aging