2018 Department Retreat

Group Picture at Retreat

On Friday, August 24, the Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics held their annual retreat at the UF Austin Cary Forest Campus Roland T. Stern Learning Center.

Kelly M. Standifer, PhD, who is currently a professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and the Richard T. Anderson Chair in Neuroscience, was the retreat’s keynote speaker. Dr. Standifer is also an alumna of the UF Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics.

Also in attendance were special guests from the Center for Strategic Philanthropy at the Milken Institute: Kirstie Keller, PhD, Senior Associate, Ekemini A.U. Riley, PhD, Associate Director, and LaTese Briggs, Senior Director.

The retreat concluded with the announcement of the 2018 Walter Oppelt Distinguished Trainee Publication in Pharmacology & Therapeutics Award. This award, supported by the Walt Oppelt Memorial Fund, is an award recognizing an outstanding published research manuscript authored by a trainee in a Pharmacology & Therapeutics lab. The winner receives a $500 and gets his/her name added to the Award plaque. This year’s winner was Kaitlin Carlson, PhD, who was mentored by Dr. Dan Wesson. Congratulations, Kaitlin!