Department faculty recognized at COM Faculty Appreciation Reception

Left to Right: Thomas Rowe, Ph.D, Jeffrey Martens, Ph.D., Stephen Baker, Ph.D., and William Kem, Ph.D.

Three Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics faculty members were recognized at the University of Florida College of Medicine Faculty Appreciation Reception held Wednesday.

Among the honorees was Professor Emeritus Stephen Baker, Ph.D., who was named the “Basic Science Teacher of the Year” at the event.

Hale Toklu, Ph.D., was also recognized at the event and welcomed as a new Assistant Scientist in the Department, and Professor and Associate Dean for Education Tom Rowe, Ph.D., who was the college’s 2012 Basic Science Teacher of the Year, was presented with his 30-year service pin during the reception.

The annual event, held at the University House, recognizes faculty and award-winning researchers, educators and clinicians from the more than two dozen departments within the UF College of Medicine